Lavender Cookies

This has been an amazing week! My first submission to FoodGawker was approved and then two to Dessertstalking and one to Photograzing. Views per day jumped so high I’m near to 1500 clicks to my blog (remember two weeks ago it was 500?). And I have become obsessed with the quality of my photos, not just the quality of the recipes. That is way it took me so long to post something. I’m just not pleased with everything I make and I try and try again, until I have something I am proud of. And I finally made it. So here are amazingly tasting Lavender Cookies!

p.s. Do you think I did a good job?

Za mano je neverjetn teden! Moja prva predloga/prijava na FoodGawker je bila sprejeta in nato dve na Dessertstalking inše ena na Photograzing. Dnevni ogledi bloga so poskočili tako visoko, da sem sedaj blizu 1500 klikov na blog (pred štirinajstimi dnevi sem bila šele pri 500!). In postala sem presej obsedena s kavliteto fotografij, ne le kvaliteto receptov, in zato je trajalo tako dolgo do nove objave. Nisem več zadovoljna z vsem kar naredim in se zato trudim in trudim, dokler ne dobim nekaj, na kar sem ponosna. In končno mi je uspelo. Tako, da vam predstavljam Piškotke s sivko!

p.s. Se ti zdi, da mi je uspelo?

These cookies have a story behind them. I wanted to make them for my sisters wedding that happened three weeks ago, but I couldn’t find edible lavender. It never accoured to me that you can buy lavender tea and that it has to be ediable, right? So when I found it, I lost the recipe and I had to find another:

Recipe (adapted from Trattoria da Martina):

250 g flour

150 g butter, room temperature

100g sugar

1 tablespoon dried lavender flowers

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract or half vanilla bean

pinch of salt

Mix butter and sugar until bright and flufy. In another bowl mix the dry ingridients – flour, salt, baking powder and lavender and add to the butter and sugar. Mix well with mixer and add vanilla, now use your hands to combine everything until you get a firm but not crubly dough. Roll it into 20 cm long cylinder and cut into 20 pieces. Divide each piece into two and shape into balls. Align them on baking paper and bake for 20 – 25 minutes in preheated oven on 150°C. They might seem unbaked, but they will be 🙂 Let them cool and store in box so the soften a bit.

Advice : Chop the lavender flowers and if you don’t prefer a lot of taste reduce the amount of flowers.

Ti piškotki imajo za seboj pravo zgodbo. Hotela sem jih narediti za poroko sestre, ki je bila pred tremi tedni, a nisem mogela najti jedilne sivke. Ni mi prišlo na misel, da lahko kupim sivkin čaj in da mora biti sivka v čaju užitna, kajne? Torej, ko sem jo našla, pa sem izgubila recept in sem moraal poiskati drugega:

Recept (povzeto po Trattoria Da Martina):

250 g moke

150 g masla, sobne temperature

100 g sladkorja

1 žlica suhe sivke

1/2 žličke pecilnega praška

1 žlička vanilijevega ekstrakta ali pol vanilije

ščepec soli

Zmešamo maslo in sladkor dokler zmes ne postane svetla in puhasta. V drugi skledi zmešamo suhe sestavine – moko, sol, pecilni prašek in sivko ter dodamo maslu in sladkorju. Dobro premešamo z mešalnikom in dodamo vanilijo, zdaj z rokami gnetemo vse, dokler ne dobimo gladkega, ne drobljivega testa. Razvaljamo ga na 20 cm valj in narežemo na 20 kosov. Razdelimo vsak košček na dva dela in oblikujemo v kroglice. Naložimo jih na peki papirji in pečemo 20 – 25 minut v pečici segreti na 150 ° C. Morda se bodo zdeli nepečeni, vendar po vsej verjetnosti so 🙂 Pustimo jih, da se ohladijo, in shrani v škatlo, da se zmehčajo.

Nasvet: sesekljajte sivkine cvetove in če ne marate veliko okusa zmanjšanje količino cvetja.

Yours truly, A.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Lavender Cookies

  1. […] these lavender cookies look awesome. I wonder if you absolutely must use the flower or if you can use the leaves as well. Hmm… Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in cooking by tklopfer. Bookmark the permalink. […]

Leave a Reply

